Quitting smoking and margarine

Well, the two actually have nothing to do with one another…but these are two subjects I am going to rant about this evening.

Leave it to me to tell the entire world that I’m going to quit smoking…and leave it to me to not be able to do it.  It makes me soooooooo mad!  SO…I have nicotine patches…and I am going to wear those patches….and when I get mad because I can’t take a patch off to smoke…I’m going to run to the end of my driveway.  Ummm…of course, I’m working this weekend, which means I’ll be painfully annoying to my workmates, and my driveway will be unaccessible at 2 or 3am.

Where does margarine come into all of this?  As you know, I have been reading many blogs and websites regarding sustainabilty.  One of the things that caught my attention was, of all things, “margarine.”  Something so simple…one would think…but have you read all the ingredients there are in margarine?

I’m a little bit weary…why must we eat things with so many ingredients when nature can provide the same thing with just 2 ingredients…”sweet cream and salt”  I mean…if you don’t eat a tub of it a day, how can natural butter be so bad?  I’m thinking the only way I can have REALLY natural butter is to have a cow.  At this moment in my life, I don’t think I could deal with a real, live cow….but if I could grow stuff that a real life cow raiser wants, maybe we could barter.  I’m thinking the bartering system is returning.  Maybe not in New York City…but for the rest of us….I think it’s making a comeback, as it should.  We don’t have to exchange money if we can exchange services.  Maybe, if more of us did this, life would become a bit more nteresting.  People would care about and respect others.  It’s amazing to me how disrespectful people are becoming.

I want to eat things that I grow.  If I can’t grow it, I want to know the farm that grew it (meat).  I’ve got a lot to learn.

Lord help me.

This evening…I made stuffed bell peppers.  I went out to the garden to get the bell peppers.  Of course, they weren’t big and beautiful like those you see at the local grocer or box store…but they were beautiful green and healthy with “big” removed.  Here’s the recipe:STUFFED GREEN PEPPERS:

1 lb ground beef

2 Tbs chopped onion

1 C. cooked rice

1 tsp salt

1 clove garlic

15 oz tomato sauce

mozzerela cheese

4 large bell peppers

First of all….pick your peppers.  If you get them from your garden, you will probably need 6 or 7….but if you get them from the store…go ahead and get 4 of them.  Sliver off the top and scoop out the seeds.  Rinse.  Get your big ol’ boiling pot out and fill it full of water – enough to cover the peppers.  Bring the water to boil… throw those peppers in there for 2 minutes.  Dump those beauties in the collander…let them drain.

Prepare rice.  you will only need 1 cup of rice for this recipe.  Most rice recipes make 3 cups of cooked rice.  Save the leftovers for fried rice and/or breakfast.

Brown the ground beef with the onion.  Drain.

Add garlic, salt and 1 cup of tomato sauce (save the rest of the sauce)…..bring to boil.  Take off heat and let cool a bit.  Now add that 1 cup of rice..stir it up and leave it aside as you contemplate what you are gonna do…

You are gonna take a small spoon and scoop the hamburger stuffing into the bell peppers.  You are going to need to find a dish that will hold your peppers.  The smaller the better…cram them babies in there.  OH…you better spray the bottom of the dish with some oil.  Them peppers are going to squirm around and slip everywhere.  I would suggest you drop the leftover meat mix  in the bottom of the pan(dish) in order to keep the peppers upright.  Once you have the peppers situated, pour the rest of the tomato sauce over the stuffed peppers.

Sprinkle Mozzerella on top of the stuffed peppers.  Put some foil over the top of the dish and stick it in the oven for 10 minutes.  Take the foil off and leave the dish in the oven for another 15 minutes.

I wish I had made some tomato gravy….but this was served with mashed potatoes and blackeyed peas….Steve LOVED it!

What do you think?

2 thoughts on “Quitting smoking and margarine

  1. Fran says:

    Sounds good to me. I some time use my muffin tin to cook them in.

Leave a Reply

