Blue Jeans, Sweat Pants and chicken pot pie

Blue Jeans, Sweat Pants and chicken pot pie

What says “FALL” quicker than white on rice?????? A woman consistently wearing Jeans and/or sweatpants.  This 46 year old woman LOVES, LOVES, LOVES shorts and tank tops.  ESPECIALLY the stretchy shorts with “built-in” panties…oh, yeah, when clothed in these, I am one with the earth and haven’t a care in the world.  And let’s not forget “flip-flops”….  I have a couple of pair of furry flip-flops that I wear during the fall/winter that kind of remind me that some day the temperatures will be of the blazing, hell-like degree some time soon.

Yesterday, I went to Garvan Woodland Gardens for “Master Gardener Appreciation Day”.    I had a great time…there were vendors….I think I may be a plant hoarder.  I bought 2 lemon grass, 2 japanese maples, 1 beauty berry,  a sweet bay,  a Mexican Salvia, and a Patchouli plant.  Hello, my name is Michelle,  and I’m addicted to plants.

There is just something about finding a new plant, or drooling over a plant that everyone, other than myself, can grow.  I dream of my little ol’ 7.2 acres being covered in amazing greens and rainbow colors.  I wish to grow all my own veg-ee-ta-buls…..make my own soaps…have chickens give me all the eggs I want and maybe a goat or two  supply all the milk, cheese and yogurt I could ever need.  That’s me, dreaming.

Tonight, I made a chicken pot pie.  I planned on  doing this prior to coming to find out how cool it was going to be.  I will say, it is a tasty recipe and very easy.  I am going to give you the recipe…but I would suggest omitting the poultry seasoning.  I love herbs, but it seemed a bit strong.

CHICKEN POT PIE:

1  Box refrigerated  pie crust, softened as directed on box

1 can Progresso Recipe Starters Creamy Roasted Garlic with Chicken Stock cooking sauce

1/4 c. all purpose flour

1/2 tsp poultry seasoning

1 large can Veg-all, drained

1 1/2 c chopped rotisserie chicken

1.  Heat oven to 425 degrees.

2. Put one pie crust in the bottom of a 9″ deep dish pie plate.

3. In 2-qt saucepan, using wire whisk, mix together cooking sauce, flour, poultry seasoning, 1/2 tsp salt and 1/4 tsp pepper until smooth.  Add vegetables, heat to boiling.  Boil 2 minutes, stirring frequently.  Stir in chicken.  Spoon into crust-lined pie plate.  Top with second crust; seal edge and flute.  Cut slits in several places in top crust.

4. Bake 35-40 minutes or until crust is golden brown.  Be sure to cover the edges with foil so they don’t burn.

There you have it…Fall has begun!

Guess I’m gonna have to break out some socks…….oh horrors!!!!!!

One thought on “Blue Jeans, Sweat Pants and chicken pot pie

  1. […] Blue Jeans, Sweat Pants and chicken pot pie. Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment […]

Leave a Reply

